Top Ten Tuesday (39): If You Like…You Might Like…

Top Ten Tuesday is an original
feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the
Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Top Ten Books For People Who Like X Book (Pick a book and pick 10 readalikes)

If you like Graceling, you’ll like Under the Never Sky. The relationship dynamics that develop and journey are very similar, yet unique in their way.

If you like Christopher Moore, you’ll like Carl Hiaasen. They both have outrageous characters and situations. Christopher Moore dabbles in the paranormal, though.

If you like Sarah Desson, you’ll like Stephanie Perkins. They both breathe life in the Contemporary Romance category. Unique, likable characters and sweet evolving romances.

If you like Pillars of the Earth, you’ll like Outlander. Both epic, with strong women and the beautiful men that love them despite the tough world they live in.

If you like Don’t Breathe a Word, you’ll like Cracked. Both are gritty and realistic. They give voice to those going through hard times.

If you like The Iron King, you’ll like Waterfall. Both have girls that evolve into strong women as they face impossible obstacles to survive and be with the guy that stole their heart.

If you like Perfect Chemistry, you’ll like Dead Rules. Both girls end up with the boy they least though they would. Those bad boys have more to them than meets the eye.

If you like the Night Huntress series, you’ll like the Dark Swan series. Strong men that know exactly who they are. Women that are still trying to figure where they fit in their paranormal world and still discovering the depths of their power. With a similar sexy time factor.

If you like Wicked Lovely, you’ll like Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side. These girls have to figure out where they fit in the paranormal world and who and how to keep the boy they love.

If you like Shade, you’ll like Ten Things We Did. Both of these books have a heavy focus on losing virginity. Which boy? Spontaneous or planned?

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (39): If You Like…You Might Like…

  1. Ohhhhhh I love this! I am always looking for authors/series that are like books that I have loved :)

  2. This is how I did my list today too. Instead of picking 1 book to focus on, I picked a few and gave read alike suggestions for all. Great list I agree with Dessen and Perkins both write such romantic stories!

  3. Oh so many books I need to add to my to read! I really want to try Waterfall.

  4. I loved Graceling and Under the Never Sky but never thought to compare them directly. Great choices! :)

  5. Love Carl Hiaasen! Great list, will have to keep an eye out for Christopher Moore.

  6. This is a pretty epic post! I will keep these people in mind…so many I haven’t read!

  7. Lots of great choices! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Yet more evidence that I should check out Stephanie Perkins.

    The Pillars of the Earth is one of my favourite books but I just couldn’t get into Outlander. I’m 100 pages in (I know as I still have the bookmark holding my place from where I gave up on it six months ago) and just.. couldn’t go on.

    Maybe I should try it again.

    Hope you had a good tuesday :)

  9. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (26) | bookgoonie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s